​Friends of the Library members and volunteers actively promote Library services and resources while sharing their love of books with the community. The Friends foster a positive relationship between the Library and the community, secure volunteers and raise funds to support the Library. 

Friends of the Library Council Report

Dear Friends,    

     Anyone attending the Friends of the Library Annual Author’s Luncheon in October were graced with inspiring words from author, Meredith Burton.  Miss Burton made the short jaunt from her hometown of Lynchburg to share her experiences as a writer, a student growing up with challenges, and her books.  She shared with the audience her self-published book as well as her other titles. Lunch was wonderful although the treat of the afternoon was when Meredith Burton wrapped up her presentation by singing for her audience with a voice that was truly angelic.  This was unexpected and delightful! Whether table sponsors or purchasers of individual tickets, your support of this annual fundraiser, the Friends of the Library Annual Author’s Luncheon, is greatly appreciated.

     This has been a year full of progress and development for the Friends Council as well as the Library. The money earned from the luncheon is being used to add needed shelving and furnishings for the children’s and youth areas in the library.  As a reading teacher, I know the importance of these areas being inviting, stimulating, and comfortable for young folks as they explore and enjoy the books.

     The support and reinforcement the Friends Council provides is a vital part of the Shelbyville-Bedford County Library.  As it takes a village to raise a child, it takes Friends of the Library to implement a successful library program. The village which contributes to the library is the dedicated staff, dependable volunteers, loyal patrons, and Friends of the Library.  Being part of this endeavor is richly rewarding! The Friends of the Library Council helps with fundraisers, activities the library conducts for the community as well as helping to meet some of the needs of the library in order to conduct daily business. As members who have served on the Council for several years roll off, the Council welcomes new members.  Feel free to let any member of the Council know if you are interested in participating as a member of the Friends of the Library Council. The Council will come together in early spring for events to support our library. We would love to have you join us!

     Until then, get lost in a good book from our library as we enjoy the winter months ahead!  I look
forward to our meeting in March!

Monica Lewis
Friends of the Library Chair





Friends of the Library Council

  • Monica Lewis, Chairman

  • Gayle Gragg, Treasurer

  • Janie Burke

  • Calvin Cannon

  • Randy Carroll

  • Charmagne Farrar

  • Jennifer Henderson

  • Shelley Jones

  • Cam Pruitt

  • Melody Teague

  • Rheaetta Wilson

  • Sara Wood


Click the image below for a printable version of the application

Hours of Operation

Monday, Tuesday, & Thursday

9 am - 8 pm

Wednesday, Friday, & Saturday

9 am - 5 pm

Sunday - CLOSED

Computer Lab closes 30 minutes prior to library closing.

​Shelbyville - Bedford County Public Library
220 South Jefferson Street

Shelbyville, TN 37160
Phone: (931) 684-7323
Fax: (931) 685-4848

© 2016 by Shelbyville - Bedford County Public Library.
Proudly created with